I just don’t instinctively have it in me (yet, hopefully) to think creatively, which is why when you compare my #MakeoverMonday submission to that of Adam Crahen, there’s a massive design gap. We conveyed the same information – the same Measures and Dimensions, but whilst mine is clean and functional, Adam layered on his usual aesthetic flair.

Screen Shot 2017-04-02 at 18.04.37.png

That’s mine. Simple, effective. Not going to set hearts racing but it articulates the things I wanted it to:

  • Total jobs at risk
  • % of jobs by Industry at risk
  • A tangible number based on that percentage – just how many jobs per Industry are at risk?

Here‘s Adam’s:

Screen Shot 2017-04-02 at 18.47.52.png

Big difference, huh? I genuinely had completed mine in the minutes after the data dropped, but life (and a BBQ!) got in the way for a few hours. After Adam published, I tried to iterate and find an alternative way to present things, but I couldn’t find anything I liked so went with the gut instinct of my first attempt. Let’s explore Adam’s visualisation and get under the skin of just how his design tips and tricks elevated a so-so chart to a more complete “design”.

First thing I picked up on is something new to me – and I love that I learn new stuff on a daily basis pretty much a year to the day after first installing Tableau at work. I noticed that there were a couple of empty .pngs in the top-left of the dashboard:

Screen Shot 2017-04-02 at 18.59.46.png

Why? Because it seems you can associate a URL with an image (you can’t with a text box, which seems unnecessarily restrictive), and you can use URLs to ensure that users can click through to access web pages / Twitter profiles:

Screen Shot 2017-04-02 at 19.01.35.png

By Floating these boxes in front of a background text box showing his Twitter handle and the DataDuo website, Adam ensures that users just get a seamless sense of clicking the text to navigate through to the target URL. Cool little trick.

The robot image is just a .jpg, and the text summary below it is just a nicely formatted (Floated) text box:

Screen Shot 2017-04-02 at 19.04.45.png

The bullets under the chart itself are simply a Caption:

Screen Shot 2017-04-02 at 19.07.30.png

Lob in another worksheet for the 10.4M title and another text box for the “The Human Cost of AI” footer, and you’re done. What do I takeaway from this rapid #TakeapartTuesday? Design doesn’t have to be difficult, and a few flourishes can make a world of difference to an end visualisation.

